Sunday, July 11, 2010

And The World Champions are...

Spain won its first world cup ever by defeating Netherland 1-0 in extra time. they game was scoreless when John Heitinga of the dutch was sent off with two yellows in the 109th minute . the goal was finally scored in the 116th minute by Andres Iniesta. the game was slow and dull for the most part there were few chances and when they came all but one was blown. this world cup will go down, not for being the best or most exciting but for being the first one on african soil

other fact and interesting bits...
  • Thomas Muller(Germany) is the winner of the Golden Boot with 5 goals(Highest goal total)
  • Diego Forlan (Uruguay) is the winner of the Golden Ball(best player in tournament)
  • Iker Casillas(Spain) is the winner of the Golden Glove(best goalie in tournament)
  • Spain also adds the FIFA Fair Play Award to the trophy case
  • New Zealand is the only team in the world cup to not lose a game

No comments:

Post a Comment